Bon appétit!

After seeing Julie and Julia this weekend I completely wanted to finish “My Life in France“.  The movie was funny, heartwarming and made you want to come home and run into the kitchen.  Unfortunately, when I got home it was about 11 at night and there was no way that I was going to do that.  So instead I picked up Julia Child’s book and completed it (I was in the middle of it at the time).

The book was thoroughly enjoyable and an excellent story about a life well lived. I was captured by her joy for life and cooking and her can do spirit. Julia’s discovery of her life’s calling makes you realize that it is never too late to learn and thrive in something that you love. I admired how she threw herself into her work and immersed herself in the culture of each new country she lived in. Her enthusiasm jumped out of each page. Nothing held her back and nothing should hold you back.
There were parts of the book though that I could have lived without. Her belittlement of her father and her categorization of people as “intellectual” or not. The book was at its best when it focused on food and her experiences with it.
If you have seen the movie, are a foodie, or just want to know more about Julia Child pick up this book. I think you might get a kick out of it.

* Woot another one down – # 12. Read 30 new books I haven’t read before (7/30)