Roasted Banana Ice Cream

Yes I know…who makes banana ice cream in the middle of winter? I do. K and I have been going to the farmers market every week and buying many different types of fruits. Bananas were on sale so we ended up getting a bit more then we could eat. I needed something to make and thought of ice cream. A lot of times I have extra fruit I usually go to the old time favorites of sherbet or ice cream. It is an easy was to use the fruit and be able to eat it over a extended amount of time. Hope you enjoy!

Roasted Banana Ice Cream

4 bananas
1/3 cup brown sugar
2 tablespoons sugar
1 1/2 cup milk
1 1/2 teaspoons lemon juice
1 teaspoon vanilla
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon

Preheat oven to 375. In a small baking dish, slice the bananas and toss in the brown sugar. Bake for 30 minutes. About 15 minutes in mix. Chill this mixture and then in a blender, blend the bananas/brown sugar mixture, milk, sugar, lemon juice, vanilla, salt and cinnamon until smooth. Chill mixture in the fridge until cold (I chilled mine overnight). Churn in an ice-cream machine until thick. You can serve right out of the ice cream machine or you can freeze for a thicker consistency.

Ice Cream! You scream! We all scream for ice cream!

6 thoughts on “Roasted Banana Ice Cream

  1. This looks like an excellent alternative to banana shakes. Unfortunately we do not have an ice cream machine, but if we pick one up, I’ll be eager to try it. BTW, I came across your site through NaBloPoMo. I signed on for the first time this month. Should be a fun challenge!

  2. You don’t always need a ice cream maker. You can also place the mixture in a plastic container, put it in the freezer and every few hours give a good whipping. It won’t come out as airy as it would with the maker, but it still works.
    I also just signed up for NaBloPoMo. I pretty excited to see if I can post everyday! You are right..it should be very fun!

  3. I love the picture. Looks yummy, too. Too bad the hubby doesn’t like bananas… I’d have to eat the ice cream all myself, which would be bad. lol

  4. You could actually eat it all yourself. The recipes does yield about 4-6 servings depending on how big you think a serving is. lol =)

Leave a Reply

