Hugs and cupcakes…

The other day while at work a women and I were talking about baking. The girls at the office refer to me as their own little Martha Stewart. I am always bringing some sort of snack/pie/cake/cookie to have them try. She wanted to know what I made this week. That week I had made the girls cupcakes for my one of their birthdays. As we were talking, a man who was sitting in our reception area came up to us. He seemed confused. I ask him if he was alright and he looked at me like I had two heads. Then he asked “From scratch? With flour?”.  He said that he had never seen his wife make any sort of dessert from scratch and didn’t think that anyone really did that anymore. I was taken completely by surprise. I thought that a lot of people did still work in the kitchen to make things. I made it my mission that day to ask around to see if people did. And you know what I found out….no they don’t. A lot of people think that it is a waste of time and if they really need something either the bakery has it or the supermarket. One mother told me, “What’s the use when the mixes are just as good!”. Another small, skinny women said, “It is all so fattening and everybody worries about their weight these days”. Now I am not saying that I make everything from scratch, but I try to make as much as possible. Maybe people don’t cook any more because of their busy schedules, maybe they have preconceived notions that cooking is harder then it really is, or maybe people have just gotten lazy. It is sad, but true.

2 thoughts on “Hugs and cupcakes…

  1. I’m right there with you. I used to be astounded by how few people cook and bake, nevermind ENJOY it. I am less astounded now (since I started running into this issue at my job in the late 90s) but I am still saddened by it. I’m personally glad that several of my closest friends (including the hubby) enjoy baking and/or cooking from scratch with as many “real” ingredients as possible.

    When you make a great dessert from scratch, you only need to eat a small amount of it to really enjoy and appreciate it.

    I wish we had the capital to open a coffeehouse/bakeshop.

  2. I completely agree. There is something to be said about making things from scratch. The ingredients are fresher. You know exactly what you are putting into your meal/dessert. It takes me to a completely “happy” place.

    It has always been a dream of mine to own a coffeehouse/bakeshop. There is not a day that goes by that I don’t think about it. If only I could win the lottery! Lol.

Leave a Reply

