Eight layers of goodness!

This weekend I had my parents and sister over for dinner.  I made the most delicious pot roast and an eight layer cake.  Now my fathers favorite dessert ever is the seven layer cake.  It is one of the only times he really enjoys sweets.  When I came across a similar recipe on Bakerella I knew I just had to make it.  Bakerella did a twelve layer cake, but I didn’t have enough time to do that and I wanted to make a cake as close as the one my father loved.  I made an eight layer cake instead. 

The recipe I used:
The Smith’s 12 layer cake 

I decided that I wanted a more even icing so I decided to use a jar of duncan hines to smooth everything out.  

Eight layers of goodness!
{My take on the cake}

 
*FYI my father loved the cake! He couldn’t stop talking about how it was exactly as the seven layer cake he always loves to eat!!

One thought on “Eight layers of goodness!

Leave a Reply

