I will miss you more then you know…

Sometimes I sit in my living room late at night like I am tonight and think about all the places that I want to go.  When I was small I wanted to travel the world (I still do).  I would imagine how it was like in different countries.  I would imagine the food, sites, people and different cities.  At the time I didn’t think about work, stresses, family, friends or money.  All I knew was that I wanted to travel.  There seems to be a time in your life where your dreams as a child and the realities of your adult life meet.  You lose some of that child like innocents.  You start to think that the little things like a new vase for the living room or a new big screen TV is what is going to make you happy.  I have realized as of late that it does not.  I see so many people around me reaching out for things.  Material things that they think are going to make them happy.  I believe that these things will not.  They might fill a bit of a void, but the void that is there will just return when you tire of the item.  Then you will be off running for something else.  This brings me to thoughts of K’s brother.  I am amazed that in this economy he and his girlfriend are living the life that they want.  They are getting rid of things that they don’t need.  They are packing up and moving across the country to a new state, a new life, a new place and new jobs.  I envy them.  I envy their enthusiastic spontaneity.  I know that I could never do this.  I can’t imagine life without seeing my family at a moments notice.  But I do applaud them for having the guts to do what makes them completely happy.  Of not losing that childlike innocents and not being scared of the big bad world.  I am going to miss them more then they know.  They are both two of the most amazing people I have met and I hope that in the future I will be able to have the guts that they have.  Even if it is just to do something small.

Leave a Reply

