Can you have a life crisis at 31?

Time is something that I’ve been thinking about a lot lately. It seems that there is so much time, but I am beginning to wonder where the time has gone. I think about where I expected myself to be by this age and realize the I am far from the goals that I had set for myself. Have I been that frivolous? Have I wasted years? Should I make new goals and make them time sensitive? Or should I stop and just take it one day at a time? Stop thinking so much about lining up everything and go with the flow? I am constantly being reminded that there’s so much of my life left to live. I am also reminded that I people before me have been married, have a house and are working on having baby #1 or even #2. Is there a medium? And if not, can you have a life crisis at 31?

4 thoughts on “Can you have a life crisis at 31?

  1. I had mine at 27, so I certainly think you can have one at 31. 🙂

    I quit a well-paying job and went back to school to become a teacher. 4 years later, I quit THAT and now I’m a writer and this is 110% where I’m meant to be.

    Go with the “stop and take it one day at a time”, or at the very least DO take it one day at a time as well as making goals. You miss so much of life if you don’t!

    • Well maybe like you I will soon find “where I am meant to be”. Thank you for the advice. I think I am going to stick with taking things one day at a time and see where life takes me. Who knows what sort of adventure I may find. =)

  2. I”ve been having a midlife crisis for years now and I’m 10 years older than you. Should I go back to school to get another degree? Will anyone even hire me when I’m done? Years and years wasted at a mundane job…I think you are wise to stop putting so much pressure on yourself; I’ve found it only serves to make me more miserable when I think that I have accomplished no where near what I had hoped to when I was younger and keep putting pressure on myself to try and produce something spectacular. It is difficult to watch others succeed while I continue to tread water.

    Gosh, I sound like Debbie Downer today!! Not sure that any of this is of any help at all; but know that there are others out there in the same boat 🙂
    carma

Leave a Reply

