Good bye cable – hello world?

So I think we are going to do it! At the end of the month K and I are thinking of canceling our cable. We have been talking about it a lot lately and think that mostly it is a waste of money. We spend so much on cable and hardly watch it. Most of the shows we watch are from channel 2 through 13. If we want to watch any shows that are on cable they are always showing on the internet. We also have Netflix and go through an incredible amount of movies. With the money are we going to save I am thinking about buying a bigger flat screen monitor for the computer. Then after that we can save the extra money towards a house or even day trips. We really want to get away from spending so much time watching the television. We want to walk more, ride bikes, take trips, read, play games and just go out more. My friend Nikki did this a couple of months ago and she said it was the best decision she could have made. I think now is the best time to do it because spring and summer are coming. We can do all the things we have wanted. I can’t wait, but I am a bit scared too. I have never lived without cable before! lol.

3 thoughts on “Good bye cable – hello world?

  1. I admire this move. I know I couldn’t do it – I couldn’t live without my MSNBC and Food Network. Too bad we can’t pick and choose our cable channels because I don’t watch 90% of them a lot of the time.

    • I am going to miss food network (you know me and food!!), but then I realized how much time K and I will eventually gain from it. More us time instead of more tv time. Plus most of the food shows are just on the food network website! =)

  2. I understand your trepidation. Bob and I went through the same thought process a few months ago. We realized we hardly watched anything that wasn’t on a basic cable channel so we gave up the extended basic and saved $50 a month.

    I’ve always been a TV junkie (I readily admit it). =) Since getting rid of all the extra channels, I haven’t missed them. There may be one or two shows that pop into my mind once in a while, but for the most part, I never think of what we no longer have.

    We’ve gotten to the point now that we’re only watching two shows on any regular basis during the week. Most nights we watch DVDs of our favorite TV shows (Stargate SG-1, Charmed, Angel, Smallville, etc.). I’m surprised at how easy the transition was since I always had the TV on before. It’s been nice spending more time together at night or just reading.

    I hope your transition is as easy as mine. I’m still surprised that I didn’t have withdrawals.

Leave a Reply

