Just one of those weekends…

This weekend was one of those weekends where you don’t have a moment to breath.  So many things to do in so little time.  I am glad that we were able to go to everything, but a bit sad that we really didn’t have much of a weekend to relax.  Saturday started out with K and I working.  I got home around 1ish and then heading to the kitchen to make brownies.  Now I usually don’t make boxed brownies, but I just didn’t have the time to make homemade ones.  K was going to be home around 2:30 and I still needed to clean up around the house and get ready for Sunday’s breakfast.  I put them in the oven and started to pick up, do light cleaning and wrap a present.  I completely forgot that the brownies were in the oven and destroyed them.  I don’t know what I did.   Maybe in the rush I added a little extra of something or forgot to put something in, but they came out wet in the middle and completely rock hard on the outside.  I had to laugh.  At least the  house smelt of brownies.  After throwing them out, I completed what I needed to do and K came home.  Off to his sisters to pick her up and then to the party.  We had a great time and ended up being one of the last people to leave. 
Sunday morning seemed to be the same as Saturday.  As soon as I woke up I had things to do.  I cleaned up a bit more and set the table for breakfast.  See today was the last Sunday breakfast we were going to have with K’s brother and his fiance before they leave for California.  I decided on waffles and mimosas and sausage and toast and hash browns and corn muffins.  I couldn’t really pick just one thing to make – so I made them all.  I even ended up making different kinds of waffles – strawberry, all-spice banana, cinnamon apple, cranberry and of course plain buttermilk.  We have leftovers for the next couple of weeks!  We all ate like pigs and had a great many laughs.  I am really going to miss our Sunday’s with them a lot.  It was always good to see them. 
After breakfast we cleaned up and got ready for our next day of work.  Then it was off to Christian’s first birthday party.  It was a cowboys and indians themed party.  Very cute and very fun.  He is one of the happiest babies that I have ever met.  Every time I am with him it makes me want to have a baby of my own. 
As I am sitting here typing this and I feel exhausted.  I really do wish that I could have just one more day to relax and recuperate.  I love having weekends packed with things to do, but I also love those weekends where we are able to relax and just recharge from the week.  I am glad to have had this busy weekend though.  Seeing my friends and seeing them happy makes me happy.  Everywhere we went this weekend made me realize how lucky we are to have these people in our life.  Both parties were the start of something new.  The first was a start to a new life in a new city with new adventures.  The second was a start at growing and learning new things – like his first steps and what a birthday is.  I am happy that I was able to share memories with each of these individuals, because I truly believe that it is what life is all about.  Having these moments with people and remembering them for a lifetime.

Leave a Reply

