Watch out! I have mango madness!

You definitely know summer is on its way when I break out my ice cream maker.  I was a late bloomer last year when it came to sorbet/ice cream/frozen yogurt.  K and I ended up buying our maker closer to the end of summer.  I was sad when it was too chilly to use.  This year I am happy to say that it has come out of hiding and I have made my first frozen dessert of the summer – mango sorbet! 
Mangos have been a favorite of mine for some time now.  Anytime I see a mango type drink on a menu I must try it.  Whenever I see a cart full of mangos I must buy some.  I love eating them right off the pit.  I love eating them in a salad.  In sorbet.  In just about everything that goes with mangos.  I have mango madness!

Mango Sorbet
2 mangos
2/3 cup sugar
2/3 cup water
4 teaspoons lime juice
zest of half a lime
1 tablespoon dark rum
pinch of salt

Combine all of the ingredients in a blender and process until smooth. Freeze in an ice cream maker according to the manufacturer’s directions.

Easy. Simple. Delicious.

2 thoughts on “Watch out! I have mango madness!

  1. OH, how lovely! I’m just waiting for the yellow mangoes to come in — it seems that it’s still a little early for them. I want to make a cake with mango mousse!

    • I look forward to reading your post on mango mousse and then making it! I was just over at your blog and I love the Guinness Cupcakes with Bailey’s Buttercream Frosting. K’s birthday is next week and I am thinking of making them for him. He is a such beer guy and they look amazing! =)

Leave a Reply

