How sweet it is…to love strawberry frozen yogurt!

Strawberries are everywhere right now.  Good for K and I.  We love them!  So when I went to the market today to pick up bits of things for dinner I came across the strawberries.  Seems that there was an amazing sale and someone (me) bought way to many.  Lets just say I bought about 6 pounds worth.  Funny thing though…they will fly out of the fridge and into our mouths in no time!  We eat them plain, in yogurt, in desserts, in ice cream, with whip cream, on waffles, in salads and just about anything else that goes with them.  Wanting to use them all up while they were at their freshest, I flipped around the internet and came about this recipe by David Lebovitz.  I have tried a couple of his recipes and must say that each have been amazing.  I have yet to come across one I haven’t liked. 

Strawberry Frozen Yogurt
1 pound fresh strawberries, rinsed and hulled
2/3 cup sugar
2 teaspoons vodka or kirsch (optional)
1 cup plain whole milk yogurt
1 teaspoon freshly squeezed lemon juice

Slice the strawberries into small pieces. Toss in a bowl with the sugar and vodka or kirsch, if using, stirring until the sugar begins to dissolve. Cover and let stand at room temperature for 1 hour, stirring every so often.
Puree the strawberries and their liquid with the yogurt and lemon juice in a blender until smooth. If you wish, press the mixture through a mesh strainer to remove any seeds.
Refrigerate for 1 hour then freeze in your ice cream maker according to the manufacturer’s instructions.

*The only things that I changed with this recipe were the yogurt (I put in vanilla yogurt instead of plain) and I added a couple of chopped strawberry pieces so that you would get a bit more strawberry.  Who doesn’t like a bit more strawberry?

Yields about 1 quart

Leave a Reply

