# 95. Watch 10 movies my fiancé wants to watch that I would never be interested in (3/10) – Fanboys

# 95.  Watch 10 movies my fiancé wants to watch that I would never be interested in (3/10) – Fanboys

On Sunday K and I did a very unusual thing.   We decided that our dinner was going to be a “free for all” and that we were going to watch a movie.  Our “free for all” was s’mores, chips and peanuts – complete “brings you back to your college years” meal.  Since I have been picking out all of our movies lately I let K decide.  He picked “Fanboys”.  This movie is essentially the tale of a group of Star Wars fans on a cross country mission to sneak into the Lucasfilm Skywalker Ranch and steal an early print of George Lucas’ Star Wars, “The Phantom Menace” so their friend suffering from cancer can see the movie before his untimely death.  The movie did have some giggles, but it wasn’t as funny as we had expected.  There were many guest appearances by Star Wars legends (Carrie Fisher, Billy Dee Williams, and Ray Park – a.k.a., the guy who played Darth Maul).  I couldn’t count the number of inside references and “for fans only” jokes.  If you have watched and know the Star Wars movies you will catch on. Otherwise do not rent this movie because it is mostly for a die hard fans.  This is a film for every fan that’s stood out in the rain in line or played cards on the floor of a theatre waiting for tickets. It brought me back to the time (years ago) that I was myself a “fangirl” and when I was eagerly anticipating the movie. 

Leave a Reply

