# 10. Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

# 10. Homemade macaroni and cheese
I have wanted to make homemade macaroni and cheese for quite a long time now. I never really had a recipe or the time to make it. So when all of our plans were cancelled on Sunday I thought it would be the perfect time to make it. Weeks ago my parent’s neighbor gave me her recipe and said that her family loved it. So I with the time, the recipe and the ingredients I made it. K loved it. I on the other hand think I am still a fan of good old fashion mac and cheese. I don’t know it is because I have grew up eating it or I the fact that the homemade one has a lot of melted cheese and a completely different taste!

Homemade Macaroni and Cheese
1 box of elbow macaroni
1/2 stick butter
1/4 cup flour
2 1/2 cups whole milk
2 teaspoons dry mustard
1 egg (beaten)
1 pound cheese (grated)
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon ground black pepper

Cook macaroni until aldente. In a small bowl, beat egg. In a dutch oven, melt butter and sprinkle in flour (make a roux). Whisk together over low heat. Cook mixture whisking constantly for about 5 minutes. Pour in milk, mustard and whisk. Cook for another five minutes until it has a very thick consistency. Reduce heat to low. Take ¼ of a cup of the mixture and slowly pour it into beaten egg whisking constantly (you don’t want to cook the eggs). Whisk together till smooth. Pour egg mixture into mixture, whisking constantly. Stir completely. Add in cheese and stir to melt. Add salts and pepper. Taste sauce and add more salt if needed. Pour in drained, cooked macaroni and stir to combine. Pour into a buttered baking dish, top with extra cheese, and bake for 20 minutes until bubbly and golden on top.


{Homemade Macaroni and Cheese}

* Also on my 101 in 1001 list… #17. Try 10 new foods (2/10)

4 thoughts on “# 10. Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

    • Thanks. With all the rain we have been getting in NJ we needed a bit of comfort food. I think it has rained here for about two straight weeks. When did I move to Seattle? lol.

  1. Pingback: A year in review. Part 2. « Delightfully Sweet

Leave a Reply

