I think Martha Stewart and I are going to have a wonderful friendship…

The other day when I was at my local library I ran into J the Best Librarian Ever (also known as my cousin!).  She brought me over to the desk and proceeded to take out Martha Stewart’s Baking Handbook.  She knows how much of a baker I am and had put it on the side for me as a surprise.  I was soooo happy to see it.  I have been thinking of buying her book for a while, but didn’t want to spend the money on it if I didn’t like the recipes.  So this was the perfect chance for Martha and I to test each other out and see if we could make it together.  I have to say that I was not disappointed.  Martha and I decided to make my father the Classic Crumb Cake for Father’s Day (one of my fathers favorite desserts).  It said it was foolproof and excellent for beginning bakers.  Now I am not at all a beginning baker, but when you wake up early in the morning to bake a cake before getting ready to leave you want something that isn’t on the difficult side.  K and I have been so booked lately that I was not able to put something together before hand.  Yes, yes I know…shame on me!
Soooo anyway, the recipe was wonderfully easy and quick to put together.  As it was baking you could smell the cinnamon and cake baking throughout the apartment.  I wanted to dig into the crumb cake as soon as it came out of the oven, but alas I have to wait until after dinner (or maybe a little snack this afternoon if no one wants to wait).  The crumb cake looks wonderful and I just know it is going to taste amazing too!  I think Martha and I are going to have a wonderful friendship!

Classic Crumb Cake

{Classic Crumb Cake}

One thought on “I think Martha Stewart and I are going to have a wonderful friendship…

Leave a Reply

