Strawberry Muffins with cinnamon sugar sprinkle

Strawberries and muffins. Two of my favorite things. BUT strawberries in my muffins….that is a whole different story.
You see we had an over abundance of strawberries in our fridge. K love eating them but for some reason this week only ate a couple. Now I am not the type to throw out good food so I decided to make something with them. I wanted to do a tart, but alas didn’t have all the ingredients for it. I have already done a frozen yogurt so I didn’t want to go that route either. So I decided on the muffin. Easy, simple, and I have all the ingredients.
Now don’t get me wrong. The muffins came out great. BUT I didn’t like the taste of strawberries in my muffins. I actually ate around them. The muffin was very good. The strawberry in it…not so much. IF you like strawberries and muffins try out this recipe. Let me know what you think…

Strawberry Muffins with cinnamon sugar sprinkle
2 cups all-purpose flour
1 tablespoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
2/3 cup sugar
zest of 1 lemon
2 eggs
1 cup milk (I used 2%)
1 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
6 tablespoons butter (melted)
1 cup diced strawberries

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Line a muffin tin with silicone muffin cups (or paper ones if you have). In a bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, salt, nutmeg, and cinnamon. In a separate large bowl, toss together the lemon zest and sugar. Add the eggs, milk and vanilla. Whisk until blended. Add the melted butter and whisk until thoroughly combined. Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients and fold together with a rubber spatula. Add the diced strawberries and fold in.
Bake for 15-18 minutes, until the tops are golden brown and spring back.

* I sprinkled a bit cinnamon sugar on top of each muffin to give it an extra little something. You can omit this if you would like.

Strawberry Muffin!

9 thoughts on “Strawberry Muffins with cinnamon sugar sprinkle

  1. Aww, sorry you didn’t like them. I like strawberries in my pancakes, so I bet I would like the muffins too! I do like the cin/sugar you added on top too – yum!

    • I think it was the mushiness of the strawberries that threw me off.
      I never had strawberries IN my pancakes but always on them. I am going to have to try that out!

Leave a Reply

