From scratch and taking a chance!

I read yesterday an article in the New York Times Magazine by Michael Pollan. In it he discusses how Julia Child influenced and still influences cooking culture and cooking patterns. How in today’s society we love to watch a Food Network show and see how they make each and every dish from beginning to end, yet we do not walk into our own kitchens to do the same.
I have been reading Julie Child’s “My Life in France” and also “Julie and Julia: My Year of Cooking Dangerously” by Julie Powell. I find that Julie Powell’s book is a bit slow and taking me longer then usual to read, but it has also inspired me. The books and article talk about taking chances. Taking those chances in the kitchen and cooking with things that are foreign to you. Cooking dishes that you otherwise would never try or even order in a restaurant. I hope that one day I can be as fearless as both of these women in the kitchen. It is something I strive for whenever I put my apron on and open a cookbook.
I spent much of last night thinking about this article. I think about how many people I know who don’t cook/bake from scratch. How many of them are shocked that I cook/bake from scratch. Why make it from scratch when you can buy it in the store? Who takes the time? Who has the time? Who wants to spend their time doing that? Oh no I can’t do that – it is way too hard they say. I think that if more people spent the time in the kitchen they might just realize that it is a lot of fun. That you can take away or put things into your dishes that you otherwise couldn’t from something packaged or something you have ordered. You realized what you are eating – just not eating it mindlessly and the paying the bill. And that in the end you made the dish set in front of you and it is one of the greatest achievements knowing that you did.
Boeuf Bourguignon. I seem to be seeing this word around town lately – in many blogs, articles, in movies and in Julie Child’s cookbook. I am thinking that soon it will be time for me to make this so called Boeuf Bourguignon….from scratch and taking a chance!

4 thoughts on “From scratch and taking a chance!

  1. I used to be one of those people, until I actually started baking from scratch and realized it really isn’t all that difficult!
    I’m glad that you have been inspired!

  2. You will the boeuf bourguignon… definitely give it a try!

    I just made some swordfish from Mastering the Art of Cooking the other night too. Many of the recipes are entirely approachable.

    I really enjoyed reading Pollan’s article. A lot of it reminded me of research I did for my thesis on the food publishign industry. It’s amazing how all of our modern conveniences are keeping us away from the kitchen… yet not really simplifying our lives. I wish I had all the time in the world to hang out in the kitchen and cook and bake.

Leave a Reply

