Bon appétit!

After seeing Julie and Julia this weekend I completely wanted to finish “My Life in France“.  The movie was funny, heartwarming and made you want to come home and run into the kitchen.  Unfortunately, when I got home it was about 11 at night and there was no way that I was going to do that.  So instead I picked up Julia Child’s book and completed it (I was in the middle of it at the time).

The book was thoroughly enjoyable and an excellent story about a life well lived. I was captured by her joy for life and cooking and her can do spirit. Julia’s discovery of her life’s calling makes you realize that it is never too late to learn and thrive in something that you love. I admired how she threw herself into her work and immersed herself in the culture of each new country she lived in. Her enthusiasm jumped out of each page. Nothing held her back and nothing should hold you back.
There were parts of the book though that I could have lived without. Her belittlement of her father and her categorization of people as “intellectual” or not. The book was at its best when it focused on food and her experiences with it.
If you have seen the movie, are a foodie, or just want to know more about Julia Child pick up this book. I think you might get a kick out of it.

* Woot another one down – # 12. Read 30 new books I haven’t read before (7/30)

12 thoughts on “Bon appétit!

  1. It is an excellent book and you are right her zest for life jumps right off the pages at you. You may also like David Leibowitz’s The Sweet Life in Paris if you liked this.

    Betsi

    • I actually read David’s blog and his twitter. I haven’t read The Sweet Life in Paris yet, but I did hear that it was a little dry…is that true?
      I also loooove his book the Perfect Scoop. I can’t tell you how many times I have made his Mango Sorbet!

  2. Sounds like a perfect book to put a person in the mood to cook! I love your site and I’m so glad you stopped by mine. I’ve actually been thinking about starting a food blog for some time now, or at least adding that element to my own for some time now, given how obsessed I am with cooking and baking. Maybe reading your blog will inspire me!

    • I hope that I inspire you to make the food blog. I would love to see what you cook up! Let me know if you do…I will follow you =)

  3. I don’t like that they put Meryl Streep on the cover of the new edition of the book. If I buy it, I want it to be one with Julia on the cover.

    I think B&N is sold out of her cookbook. It’ll be really interested to see how much of a spike her cookbook gets out of this film.

    • I completely agree. Julia should be on her own book!

      Are you going to get the cookbook? After we saw the movie I was actually thinking of going to B & N with you to get it, but we had to go…
      You know it is going to sell like hotcakes!

      If we do get it we should get together and have a Julia cooking night and cook something together. (with wine of course!)

      • OMG, yes! (Ha, and now I hear Meryl as Julia in my head, “Yes! Yes!”)

        I was thinking of getting it (or at least looking at it, lol). I do have to look and see if my mom has it, but she might not since I don’t think she’s into French cooking either (I know she has The Joy of Cooking, though).

        We should do Julia nights. Hmmm.

  4. At first I totally thought the movie was a ridiculous concept, until I heard the book was a good one. Now I want to see or read one or the other. Good to know it’s good!

Leave a Reply

