Madeleines

I am crazy about the French. Especially the French pastries and cookies. I can’t get enough of them. One of my favorites is madeleines. I remember the time when I had my first. The taste and smell and all around goodness of the cakey cookie. Hope you enjoy this recipe…I know I did.

Madeleines
1 stick unsalted butter (melted & cooled)
3 large eggs (room temperature)
2/3 cup sugar
2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
1 cup flour
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 cup cornstarch
1/4 teaspoon salt

Preheat the oven to 375. Butter and flour the madeleine pans.
In the bowl of an electric mixer (with the paddle attachment), beat the eggs, sugar, & vanilla on medium for approximately 2 minutes (until light yellow and fluffy). Add butter and mix. Sift together the flour, cornstarch, baking powder, & salt, & fold into the batter with a rubber spatula. Drop the batter into the pans, filling each shell almost full. Bake the madeleines for 10 to 12 minutes, they will spring back when pressed. Allow to cool.

* I decided to add a bit of coconut into part of the batch since K is crazy about it. Half the plain madeleines I left plain and the other half I made a lemon glaze (just lemon juice and confectionery sugar). Yummers!

{Madeleines}

7 thoughts on “Madeleines

  1. You have a beautiful website. With great photos. I’ve seen these Madeleines around a lot of blogs but I’ll have to find madeleine pans to bake them with. They look delicious, and I’m sure they taste wonderful too!

  2. There’s nothing better than fresh baked Madeleines and tea. Every time I’m at Williams Sonoma, I’m tempted to get a pan, but there just isn’t room in my overcrowded kitchen for another pan.

Leave a Reply

