# 95. Watch 10 movies my fiancé wants to watch that I would never be interested in (7/10) – Porco Rosso

# 95. Watch 10 movies my fiancé wants to watch that I would never be interested in (7/10) – Porco Rosso

Porco Rosso is the sixth anime film by Hayao Miyazaki. You might have heard of some of his movies: Spirited Away, Howl’s Moving Castle, My Neighbor Totoro, Kiki’s Delivery Service. Porco Rosso was released in 1992 and is about an Italian World War I fighter, now living as a freelance bounty hunter chasing “air pirates” in the Adriatic Sea. The man has been cursed, and has been transformed into a pig. Once called Marco Pagot, he is now known to the world as “Porco Rosso”.
I have enjoyed many of Hayao Miyazaki’s movies. My Neighbor Totoro is my favorite along with Spirited Away. So when we saw the preview for Porco Rosso on another dvd, K decided we needed to see it just to see what it was about. I on the other hand really didn’t like the whole concept of the movie. BUT in the end we did get the movie and we did decide to watch it last night.
I wasn’t impressed with this movie. It is difficult to describe Porco Rosso. It’s so different from the rest of Miyazaki’s movies. It didn’t have the “magical” touch like the others did. Maybe it was the fact that I just couldn’t really care about any of the characters, or maybe it was the somewhat abrupt ending of the story. Normally, I feel the urge to rewatch his movies, but I don’t think I’ll be seeing this again. I am not saying that I didn’t like the movie – it just wasn’t one of my favorites. One of the highlights of his films for me is the strong female characters he creates. From young girls to elderly women, and every age in between, there is strength of mind, spirit, will, and character. If you are into any of Hayao Miyazaki you should see this movie – the animation is amazing.

6 thoughts on “# 95. Watch 10 movies my fiancé wants to watch that I would never be interested in (7/10) – Porco Rosso

  1. I agree, I love his strong female characters, whether good, bad or ugly. I guess I just like seeing girls kick ass. 🙂 I haven’t seen this particular movie, but it’s definitely on my list.

  2. We love Hayao Miyazaki movies. Porco Roso was are least favorite too. My daughte owns everyone of his movies. We just saw Ponyo(sp)? its sooo cute and one of my favs now! I love Spirited Away and KiKis Delivery Service. my neighbor totoro is super good too!

    • I can’t wait to see Ponyo! K and I are trying to find a time to go to the theater and watch it. It looks adorable!

      I actually didn’t know that his daughter owned them! Thanks for the info. and for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

