Lemon Crisp Cookies

There is always something about summer that gets me in the mood for anything with lemon. Be it a lemon ice, cake, cookie or just plain lemonade. I am always looking for new recipes to work with the wonderful lemon. Below is a recipe that my neighbor gave me the other day. It was hand written and she said that she wasn’t sure when or where she got it, but she loved it.
So I had promised myself that I wouldn’t bake this weekend, but I just couldn’t keep that promise. The recipe seemed so simple and it had lemon. How could I not?
The recipe was so easy to put together and was quick. The end cookie tasted a bit like a sugar cookie with a bit of a lemon kick. A little crisp on the outside and a wonderful chewy cookie on the inside. The lemon icing brings out a bit more of the lemon taste.
Hope you enjoy!

Lemon Crisp Cookies

For Cookie:
1 stick unsalted butter (room temp)
¾ cup sugar
1 egg (room temp)
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 ½ tablespoon lemon juice
1 ½ tablespoon lemon zest
½ teaspoon baking powder
¼ teaspoon baking soda
¼ teaspoon salt
1 ¼ cup flour

For Lemon Icing:
1/2 cup confectionery sugar
4-6 teaspoons lemon juice

For Cookie:
Preheat oven to 350. Cream the butter and sugar, then add the egg, juice, zest and vanilla. Sift in the dry ingredients and mix until just combined. Drop by 1 teaspoon of batter each onto lined baking sheet. Bake 10-12 min until lightly golden around edges. Let cool completely before adding Lemon Icing.

For Lemon Icing:
Just mix together ingredients till smooth and drizzle over the cooled cookies.

Yields approximately 1 dozen.

{Lemon Crisp Cookies}

13 thoughts on “Lemon Crisp Cookies

  1. I made some lemon cookies about 4 months ago and had to stop myself from eating the entire batch. I have not dared to make them since. It seems my will power is down latley, when it comes to anthing sweet! Your cookies look and sound amazing!

Leave a Reply

