# 12. Read 30 new books I haven’t read before (9/30) – Dead Until Dark & Living Dead in Dallas

Dead Until Dark & Living Dead in Dallas
(Southern Vampire Mysteries, Book 1 and 2)
By Charlaine Harris

I have recently been addicted to watching the TV series “True Blood” on HBO.  So when one of the girls at work told me that there was a series of books that the show was based on I ran right to the bookstore!  The Southern Vampire Mysteries are the type of books that you can sit on the couch and eat up in a day.  They are light, but move quickly with suspense, romance, and a bit of the paranormal.
The characters are well defined and interesting and Charlaine Harris’s plots certainly will hold your interest.  These books are the story pf Sookie Stackhouse.  She is the heroine who is kind of kooky, reads minds and dates a vampire…there is so much more but I don’t want to give it away!
The books and the series are a bit different.  There are characters that are in the show yet not in the books.  I like that the book is light, fun, and yet with a mystery to solve and romance to encourage.  The series is definitely much darker which I also like. Try either, both are very entertaining!

2 thoughts on “# 12. Read 30 new books I haven’t read before (9/30) – Dead Until Dark & Living Dead in Dallas

  1. I just finished up all the available books in this series!! I couldn’t put them down! I haven’t seen much of the series. I think I’m going to reread the books again before I watch it 🙂

  2. I am addicted to the series ! When I finally remembered there were books (I saw that the French editions had begun to get out) I went and bought the first one. Wow. I love that it’s different from the series and I can hear Sookie’s voice as I read, with the accent and all. I’m French-speaking so it’s a lot of fun those accents. My boyfriend just fell into the books also.

Leave a Reply

