Baked French Toast

After a long week and a longer Saturday, I wanted Sunday to be the day that K and I lazed around and ate some delicious foods. Since the upcoming week was going to be insane with work, gym, parties and many get togethers we used Sunday to relax and recoup.
The recipe below was adapted from Smitten Kitchen. I added a bit of this and that, but the original recipe was all hers.

Baked French Toast
1 loaf  Challah bread or any thick bread (your choice)
3 cups 2% milk
3 eggs
3 tablespoons sugar
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon allspice
1 teaspoon vanilla

Grease a 9×13-inch baking dish with butter. Arrange bread in two tightly-packed layers in the pan. Whisk all the ingredients together and pour over the bread. Sprinkle with cinnamon.
Now you can either make the dish the night before and let all of the custard soak in overnight or you can prepare the dish about an hour before and let it soak in the refrigerator. I did the hour soaking instead of the overnight.
Bake at 425 for 30 minutes, or until puffed and golden.

* I added a bit of powdered sugar, chopped cranberries and syrup! Delish!

5 thoughts on “Baked French Toast

  1. I think french toast has to be my favorite breakfast food in the entire world, but somehow I’m only able to justify eating it on the weekends. And you really just made me wish it was a weekend. Sadly, I’m having a hard time finding challah here in San Diego. It’s just not like NJ…

  2. Pingback: Baked French Toast with Streusel Topping « A Delightfully Sweet Life

Leave a Reply

