Two more movies that we watched this week/weekend

Two more movies that we watched this week/weekend:

My choice of movie – Vicky Cristina Barcelona
Dramedy from legendary director Woody Allen as a flamboyant painter who finds himself in the middle of a unique relationship with Vicky and Christina, a pair of American tourists. Penélope Cruz portrays an insanely jealous ex-wife, Maria Elena, whose emotional instability leads her to her former lover’s guest room.
I wanted to give this movie the benefit of the doubt. I am not a big fan of Woody Allen. But this movie did look interesting and a couple of women from work suggested that I watch it. Once again I was not impress. There was some good acting, but the movie was pretty much pointless. At the end I was left wondering whether the trip in the movie had made any real difference to the title characters, whether Vicky’s marriage would last, or what Cristina would do next. But frankly, I didn’t care about them as they walk off the screen, just as they walked on at the beginning.

K’s choice – The Last House on the Left
While vacationing at their summer home, Emma and John Collingwood show kindness to a group of strangers, unaware that the same men just assaulted their daughter. Once they learn the truth, they set out on a no-holds-barred plan for revenge that can only end in bloodshed.
This movie is an updated remake of Wes Craven’s 1972 horror classic by the same name. One that I really couldn’t handle and personally don’t want to see again! I am the type of girl who can watch a scary movie, a serial killer movie or a fighting/killing movie and not flinch, but when a movie comes along that hits to close to home I just can’t. Anything that has to do with beating someone (not the fake kind of fighting) and a rape I just can’t watch. We had to fast forward about 20 minutes of the movie because I couldn’t watch it. After those certain parts I was fine and able to watch till it finished. I wanted to complete it just to see what the ending was. I did. Now I am returning it.

Leave a Reply

