TWD: The Allspice Crumb Muffin

This week was a completely packed and crazy, but I was determined to complete this weeks recipe for Tuesday’s with Dorie.  Kayte of Grandma’s Kitchen Table picked a recipe that I have been looking at for weeks now – The Allspice Crumb Muffin. I am a huge fan of muffins! I could bake them all week. I love the fact that you can eat them at anytime and usually make them with just about any ingredients. There is always a new way to invent the muffin.
The only problem that I had with this recipe was the crumb topping. I unfortunately had baked way to many cookies this weekend and forgot that I didn’t have enough sticks of butter to do both the muffin and the crumb. So I used the last of the butter for the muffin, then turned to a spreadable butter that I had in the fridge. The crumb came out flat. I was pretty disappointed because I love crumb and this has never happen to me before. I know what went wrong and I know I should have run out to get more butter, but I just didn’t have the energy or the time. Even though the crumb did not come out as I would have liked it to the end muffin a had great flavor. I would definitely make this muffin again when I had the right butter!

9 thoughts on “TWD: The Allspice Crumb Muffin

  1. I haven’t tried the allspice muffin yet, but all of the other muffins I’ve tried from Baking from My Home to Yours have been fabulous. I can’t wait to try these.
    And I agree with the other commenters, flavor counts more than looks…

  2. Well, I think they look absolutely lovely. The topping looks good, too. Maybe you have hit upon a new version that can be a “go to” when discretion with calories is something you want that week. Looks great. Thanks for baking with me this week.

Leave a Reply

