An hour with Alton Brown

I don’t know if I mentioned it but I had the pleasure of seeing Alton Brown last weekend. I was literally giddy when I got the tickets a couple of months ago and couldn’t wait to see him in person. I have loved his show Good Eats for years now. He always has something to teach us about cooking. Whether we realize it or not there are a lot of things that happen in the kitchen that we have no idea about. Alton teaches about these things.


{Every picture I took he made a silly face – this one is my fav}

So in true Alton fashion he spoke to us and taught us. He gave us a stirring message challenging those in the audience to take a look at everything they put in their mouths or on their children’s plates. Eat seasonally. Eat locally. Enjoy food in moderation. Teach your children to cook. Be thankful for what you have and are able to eat. Read the ingredients. Check the nutritional value. Use fresh ingredients. All were great messages spiced with Alton humor.
We were not able to see Alton cook, but I walked away loving the message he delivered. There are so many people who do not realize that these are things that we should be doing everyday. We should be teaching our children the ways of the kitchen. Spending more time in the house instead of in a restaurant. More time getting to know our food better. Understanding what we are putting in our mouths and where it comes from. Who knows if people were really listening to the message he was giving, but I know I did and I am going to try to live by some of the things he spoke about.
The only thing that was disappointing was that we were not able to buy his book and have him sign it. Have you seen his new book? It contains about 300 pages about the first six seasons of Good Eats. He has recipes, drawings, tips and random facts about the show. Maybe next year K and I will be able to stay longer to meet with him!

{The set}

Leave a Reply

