A Kindle.

A wonderful friend who shall remain nameless has gotten me a most amazing gift.  A Kindle. I have wanted one for a while now, but have been wrestling with the idea of buying one. I felt that I didn’t actually need a Kindle except for the fact that it is small and easy to travel with. Otherwise I was fine with reading a book as they were intended – with pages and a wonderful hardcover.
Well, I didn’t know what I was missing. I love how small the Kindle is and that the screen doesn’t bother my eyes at all. I work at a computer all day, and the last thing I want to look at is another screen that has my eyes going crossed. It is so slim, lightweight and carries up to up to 1,500 books. 1,500 books! I also love that fact that it has free book samples. Amazon gives you the first chapter or two free to see if you like the book. I can’t tell you how many times I have come across a book that I thought that I would love only to read a chapter or two and then realize I hated it. The Kindle Store also has more than 400,000 books available, including 101 of 112 New York Times Best Sellers, plus top newspapers, magazines, and blogs.

If you do love books do try the Kindle if you get the chance. I promise you won’t be disappointed.


{source}

6 thoughts on “A Kindle.

  1. They should have Kindle test-runs. I love my books — there’s something so fantastic about them. They let me unplug from the world of electricity. But I really like the idea of a Kindle. I like that I wouldn’t have to haul around so many books all the time…

    • I completely understand. That is why I had been really thinking about getting one but never did. Then my friend got one and said that I needed it. Lol.

  2. I’m so glad you love your Kindle.

    I always thought I loved reading because of the feel and smell of the books and I’ve always hated e-readers of any kind because the screens bothered my eyes. I have not lost my love for reading by reading on a Kindle. I’ve had my Kindle for over a year now and I LOVE it! I don’t leave home without it. I have the first generation, so mine has an SD card slot and I currently hold over 2400+ books with me everywhere I go. It’s amazing! I literally have a library at my fingertips.

    By the way, you can get free books from Amazon. Go to the Kindle store for books and sort them by price (lowest to highest). They have quite a few duplicates in the list, but there are LOTS of books to choose from…FREE! They even have books for $.01.

    • Thanks so much for the heads up!
      I had felt the same way as you did…I loved books (the smell, the feel) but now that I have my e-reader I love it too. I love that I can take it anywhere and read anytime. SO light and portable.

  3. I feel like Brandi. I’ve been going back and forth whether I want one or not. I love the idea of them, but I’m not sure that I “need” it :/

    PS What an amazing friend!

Leave a Reply

