Avatar

Have you seen Avatar yet? If not you really should.
K and I on our Wednesday off decided to head to the mall. I had a couple of returns to do and we wanted to catch a mid afternoon movie. We had both heard great things about Avatar and decided that it would be best watched at a IMAX theater. So that is what we did. We grabbed our large popcorn, reeses pieces and a tall drink. We were both a little weary of the two hour and forty minute length but thought that it just might be worth it. Oh it was.

Avatar is a movie that takes place in 2154. A corporation is mining Pandora, a lush, Earth-like moon of a planet. The corporation intends to exploit Pandora’s reserves. Pandora is inhabited by the Na’vi, a blue-skinned species of humanoids with feline characteristics. Physically stronger and taller than humans, the Na’vi live in harmony with Nature, worshiping a mother goddess called Eywa. In an attempt to improve relations with the natives, scientists create human-Na’vi hybrids called avatars, controlled by genetically matched human operators. I won’t go more into the story because it might give something away and I would hate to spoil the movie for someone else.

Do go and see this film. It is amazing. James Cameron took us on a cinematic journey that we had never experienced before. The movie was visually stunning. Incredible. I promise you will not be disappointed.

4 thoughts on “Avatar

  1. I loved this movie, it was amazing. My husband has all ready seen it twice. My 16 year old daughter saus it’s her favorite movie! I so agree on the visually stunning part..so so amazing!
    Im glad you enjoyed it! I had popcorn and chocolate almonds!

  2. My boyfriend and I, along with a few other friends, went and saw this last night. I absolutely loved it. Every minute of it. I was captivated. And as you said, it was amazingly visually stunning. I am still in awe thinking about it a day later.

    We are also totally on the same wavelength with movies this week. (500) Days of Summer is 2nd in my Netflix queue so it should be here some time this week. Not sure I am going to be able to convince my boyfriend to watch this one with me!

    • The movie was soooo good! I have been actually thinking about going back to see it again!

      Let me know how you like (500) Days of Summer. I couldn’t convince K to watch it, but I did get two of my friends too!

  3. My husband and I saw this on New Years’ Eve in 3D and were amazed!!! Though he keeps calling it ‘Dances with Blue People’ (instead of Wolves), he enjoyed it. I, on the other hand, LOVED it!!! I was also wary of the 3 hours that I was going to spend there, but it SOOO did not feel that long!

    I can honestly say that I felt great after seeing it. I got a wonderful feeling of Hope, and I think I smiled all the way through the new year!

Leave a Reply

