Tropical Homemade Granola

I am a lover of granola. I can’t tell you how quick and easy granola is to make and what a fantastic snack it can be. I take a snack bag of the granola in my purse so I always have a little for snacking and don’t have to worry about eating something I may regret.
I usually add in raisins, almonds and cranraisins to my granola, but this time around I decided to go the tropical route. I added a blend of raisin, dried pineapple, cranberry, dried papaya and dried apple. Wow. It was soooo good!

Tropical Homemade Granola
4 cups old-fashioned (not quick cooking) oats
1/2 cup packed light brown sugar
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1/3 cup honey
1/3 cup vegetable oil
1 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
* I added a blend of raisin, dried pineapple, cranberry, dried papaya and dried apple to my granola. But you can add whatever you would like to. Next time I am thinking a nutty mix!

Preheat oven to 300 degrees. In a large bowl, combine oats, brown sugar, salt and cinnamon. In a small saucepan, heat oil and honey, just until it melts. Stir in vanilla.
Pour the liquid mixture over the oats mixture and stir with a wooden spoon until mixture is covered. Spread on a baking sheet lined with parchment and bake for about 20 to 25 minutes, or until the granola starts to turn golden (bake for less time for softer granola, more for crunchier, drier granola). When cool enough to handle, take a spatula to remove granola from pan and break into pieces. Add dried fruit or mixed nuts to taste. You can store granola in an air-tight container for up to a week.

2 thoughts on “Tropical Homemade Granola

  1. Pingback: Urban Bean » Tropical Granola

  2. Pingback: The beauty and simplicity of homemade granola. | A Delightfully Sweet Life

Leave a Reply

