Oven Roasted Potatoes

One of my favorite comfort foods is potatoes. I try not to eat them much as I used to, but when I do it is usually with breakfast. This is tasty side dish that would be great with almost any meal.   It is so simple yet tastes amazing and can be easily prepared in advance.

Oven Roasted Potatoes
4 potatoes (cut in cubes)
1/2 red pepper (cut in cubes)
3 tablespoons olive oil
2 tablespoons of paprika
Salt (to taste)
Pepper (to taste)
1/2 onion (coarsely chopped) *
2 tablespoons butter (optional) *
2 tablespoons real bacon bits (optional) *

Heat oven to 350. Cut potatoes and red peppers into cubes and set in a mixing bowl. Add the oil, salt, pepper and paprika together and coat thoroughly. Let sit for 30 minutes (optional). Spread the potatoes/red pepper mix onto a baking sheet. Bake for 30 to 35 minutes or until tender, stirring/flipping occasionally. If you desire crispy potatoes, after the potatoes are tender bake further until desired level of crispiness.
Coarsely chop the onion. Heat a pan over medium to medium-low heat. Add butter and coarsely chopped onions. Saute until onions start to turn translucent. Add bacon. Saute for a couple more minutes. Then add onion/bacon mixture with the potatoes and coat lightly.

* For this recipe you can use oil instead of butter or none at all. I used butter just because I like the taste and used the bacon because we had some left over that I wanted to get rid of. You can also add more roasted veggies to this dish if you are making it for lunch/dinner and omit the butter and bacon.

7 thoughts on “Oven Roasted Potatoes

  1. These look so good! You are seriously on top of things with all of these recipes these days. I’ve been a bit busy, so I haven’t had a chance to comment on each one, but I’ve just been drooling with every post you write.

    • Thank you.
      For some reason I am on a roll with the recipes this week. I guess I have had more time to cook and take the photos~

  2. great recipe! i am also a huge fan of potatoes and have to find ways to moderate myself…

    the pictures you take of food are always fantastic! what camera and light source do you use when photographing your food creations?

  3. Leave out the bacon and add rosemary and I’m in. I usually make them when I’m having company. I can just put them in the oven and leave them alone for the most part. (Is that a Smith and Hawken placemat?)

    • The bacon was bad, but I wanted to get rid of the little we had. When I make this again I am going to omit the butter/bacon part.

      The placemat I am not sure where I got. I have had them in the closet for months. lol.

Leave a Reply

