It’s Complicated

 

There is not usually a movie that I have seen that I would like to see again. It is not that I don’t like re-watching movies, but the fact is that I usually remember just about everything in the movie. My parents call me the human television. I can walk past a show or a movie that they are watching and give the name, actors and synopsis – sometime with just a glance at the screen. I really need to get out more.

 

Annnyyyway, this movie is a movie I would watch again. I completely adored it. It made me laugh, tear a little and then laugh again. The story is about an aged, divorced mother who becomes “the other woman” in her ex-husband’s life when the pair enters into an unexpected affair during an out-of-town trip. (Meryl Streep – who is amazing in this role) has been divorced from Jake (Alec Baldwin – laugh out loud funny) for a decade. Jane is a mother of three grown children, owns a successful Santa Barbara bakery/restaurant (completely jealous of this bakery!!) and maintains a friendly relationship with Jake, who has since been remarried to the much younger Agness (Lake Bell). Jane and Jake are attending their son’s college graduation when they agree to an innocent meal together. Before long a simple dinner date has erupted into an all-out affair, and when architect Adam (Steve Martin – I love just about ever film he is in) falls for Jane, he realizes he’s been drawn into a most peculiar love triangle.

 

The film is surprisingly honest about relationships and life. We make mistakes, grow up and move on. The characters in this film do that. The chemistry between the actors flowed, nothing felt forced. By far my favorite character was John Krasinski (the son-in-law).
I thoroughly enjoyed this movie. I recommend that you watch it with a light snack and have a good laugh.

Let me know what you think!

2 thoughts on “It’s Complicated

  1. I loved this movie! Saw it in theaters with my roommate and I can’t remember the last time I laughed so hard 😉 Very exciting when one of our friends brought the DVD to us as a hostess gift for a party we threw last week!!

Leave a Reply

