A new list for a new year.

I have been thinking a lot about my 101 in 1001. I have been going over it and I have realized that some of the things that I had listed in 2009 are not tasks that I still want to do. In the time that has gone by since I first started the list, thing have changed. I have gotten married, I am older and priorities have changed. I have decided that I want to do a new list. With new tasks that I will look forward to and will actually want to complete. Some have moved from the old list onto the new, some are new but all are things that I am looking forward to doing in the future.

The Mission :
Complete 101 preset tasks in a period of 1001 days.

The Criteria:
Tasks must be specific (ie. no ambiguity in the wording) with a result that is either measurable or clearly defined. Tasks must also be realistic and stretching (ie. represent some amount of work on my part).

Why 1001 Days?
Many people have created lists in the past – frequently simple goals such as New Year’s resolutions. The key to beating procrastination is to set a deadline that is realistic. 1001 Days (about 2.75 years) is a better period of time than a year, because it allows you several seasons to complete the tasks, which is better for organizing and timing some tasks such as overseas trips or outdoor activities.

Start Date: January 1, 2010
End Date: September 29, 2012

Live
1. Lose 20 pounds
2. Read 30 new books (0/30)
3. Travel to 3 states I’ve never been to before (0/3)
4. Learn to drive stick-shift
5. See a production by Cirque de Soleil
6. Visit Canada
7. Go berry picking
8. Save for a house
9. Take a cruise
10. Go camping
11. Cook 25 new dinners (0/25)
12. Bake 10 new desserts (0/10)
13. Make my own cookbook
14. Give a copy my own cookbook to someone as a gift
15. Buy myself flowers for no reason
16. Stop drinking soda completely
17. Become a vegetarian for a month
18. Watch 20 movies that I have never seen (0/20)
19. Visit the botanical gardens in the city
20. See a movie at the drive-in
21. Go one week without television
22. Travel to a tropical island
23. See two musicals on Broadway (0/2)
24. Save 3 month’s salaries for an emergency fund
25. Do not eat any take out for an entire month
26. Buy a fire safe
27. Get a promotion
28. Attend the Renaissance Festival
29. Travel to a foreign country with my husband
30. Put $5 in savings for every completed goal
31. Go back to school
32. Take a photography class for the fun of it
33. Go to a concert
34. Knit a scarf
35. Refurbish dining room table and chairs
36. Go to the Guggenheim
37. Build a snowman
38. Buy everything that is still on our registries
39. Finish Christmas shopping before Halloween
40. Learn to play the piano
41. Learn to be more adventurous with fashion
42. Go whale watching
43. See an active volcano
44. Go snow tubing
45. Swing down a zip line
46. Go ATVing
47. Walk a marathon (hey you have to walk before you can run!)
48. Get published in a magazine and/or newspaper
49. Finish five DIY projects (0/5)
50. See the Northern Lights
51. Take a cooking class and learn something really great
52. Rent a convertible somewhere warm and drive with the top down
53. Start to clear debts, some if not all
54. Get my blog redesigned
55. Have three girls nights out (0/3)
56. Enter a contest of some sort (cooking, writing, photography, etc.)
57. Go to a taping of Martha Stewart Show
58. Go to the Finger Lakes Wine Festival
59. Go on a road trip with no predetermined destination
60. Get flexible enough to touch my toes
61. Find a new apartment to move into next October
62. Do something I’ve always been afraid of
63. Stop cussing for 1 week
64. Go to a book signing and get a book signed

Love
65. Restore contact with three people I’ve lost along the way
66. Make our wedding album
67. Spend a rainy day with my husband watching films in our PJ’s
68. Make breakfast in bed for my husband
69. Watch 5 movies that my husband loves that I am not interested in (0/5)
70. Send my uncle all of the photos he has lost
71. Make a gingerbread house with my husband
72. Go on a date with K once per month (0/33)
73. Take a vacation to Disney with my husband
74. Buy 5 things off Etsy (0/5)
75. Win a contest with something I did or made
76. Love every day
77. Surprise someone with a card or gift
78. Take a photo of 101 things that make me happy (1/101)

Entertain
79. Master making fresh pasta
80. Learn to make the perfect cheesecake
81. Throw 50 parties/dinner get togethers (0/50)
82. Try 15 new restaurants (0/15)
83. Learn to bake French pastries
84. Host a wine and cheese party
85. Taste 20 kinds of cheeses (0/20)
86. Make marshmallows
87. Try at least 20 desserts from the Bon Appetit Desserts Cookbook (0/20)
88. Complete every recipe in The Best Of Cooking Light: Everyday Favorites (0/500)
89. Find a new musical artist to add to my list of music every day for a month (0/30)
90. Buy a china cabinet
91. Try 20 new cocktails (0/20)
92. Try 10 new video games (0/10)
93. Establish a regular game night and/or movie night
94. Watch 5 foreign films (0/5)
95. Pick a spice every month & learn how use and prepare food with it (0/33)
96. Try 5 new teas (0/5)
97. Learn to make gnocchi
98. Attended a comedy show with friends
99. Learn to bake bread
100. Learn to make my own jam
101. Make five ice creams and/or sorbets (0/5)

4 thoughts on “A new list for a new year.

  1. I’m seriously impressed — that’s one ambitious list. I don’t think I could even list 101 things right now. Best for me if I just start with some little things here and there. I kinda like constantly writing goals for myself.

    • Thanks! I am looking forward to doing a lot of them this year. It seems that the more I make lists, the more I want to do. Ever feel that way?

      Try with a small list and then go from there! You could always add to it!

Leave a Reply

