Assumptions…

Have you ever thought back to when you were a child.  To all of the things that you thought you were going to do, places that you thought you would visit and the person you thought you were going to be.  Now think about what you are doing now.  Is it what you thought was going to happen?

As a kid, I kind of assumed that by the time I grew up, I’d know exactly who I was and what I wanted to do.  It seems that either I haven’t completely grown up yet, or being the person I thought I was going to be is completely different from the person I ended up being.  I figured I had the potential to be anything that I set my mind too.  Of course I did set my sights for things that I thought I wanted.  Later finding out they were not made for me.

There was absolutely no chance in my young mind that I’d wake up in my mid-thirties,  without having traveled the world, owning a house while juggling an amazing job as a novelist with my two children in tow.  Oh and of course my husband was going to be a world famous actor who had too many Oscars to count.  A girl can dream after all.

I look at my life right now and I realize that it is not where I thought it was going to be at this point.  But you know what…it is OK.  I am still here and still have dreams.  Who cares if I didn’t complete them by the time limit that my young mind gave me.  I still have time.  I don’t own a house, but do live in an adorable and comfortable apartment.  My husband isn’t a world famous actor, but he is the most amazing, kind, remarkable man and I count my blessings that we have found each other.  I don’t have children, but the possibilities for them are there.  And as for the novelist…well I have learned that I am not the best writer.  But it is OK…I can always try.  I can strive to be a better person.  I can learn.  I can change and I can find out what I want.  Even though I haven’t completed most of what I thought by now, my future is bright and the possibilities are endless.

We all can still have dreams, no matter age.


Leave a Reply

