There’s something about Darcy.

Pride and Prejudice was first published in 1813. Nearly 200 years later, the novel’s romantic lead, Mr. Darcy, still has an effect on women. Be it the novel or the movies..there’s something about Darcy.

I am an avid reader of historical romances and an avid viewer of period piece movies. I’ve seen just about every version made of this Jane Austen classic, and found each one to be enjoyable in its own unique way. Of all of the adaptations my absolute favorite has to be the 2005 version with Keira Knightly and Matthew Macfadyen. Yes, there were some things about this movie that were historically inaccurate or not faithful to the book, but I am completely in love with it. I adore Matthew Macfadyen’s portrayal of Darcy. Many would gasp with the thought of me going against the crowd favorite – Colin Firth. For years I loved him as Darcy, but there is something about the way Matthew plays the character – moodier, shyer, subtler, and more tormented than his predecessor.

So who played the strong-headed Mr. Darcy best? Well, it depends on the woman answering the question. Either way, Mr. Darcy is always in our hearts and sometimes, as seen here, on our clothing.

I found Brookish’s Etsy Shop randomly and fell in love with their products immediately. I hope to order the Mr. Darcy Proposal Tote Bag and the Captain Wentworth Scarf with a lovely piece taken from Captain Wentworth’s passionate letter to Anne Elliot (from Persuasion). They are lovely reminders of an author I hold dear.

Please note: This isn’t a paid advertisement. I just love their stuff! Click on the pictures to go directly to the etsy shop.

One thought on “There’s something about Darcy.

  1. I wanted to thank you for this great read!! I am definitely enjoying every little bit of it and have you bookmarked to check out the new stuff you post.

Leave a Reply

