Sorry Amy. I didn’t “like” you.

I wasn’t sure what I was getting into when I opened this book. “I Like You: Hospitality Under the Influence” by Amy Sedaris is described as a book of party advice from an entertaining expert and will have you hosting an unforgettable fete that will have your guests raving. Unfortunately there nothing you can take from this book that is useful. A hospitality book it isn’t.

Depending on your humor there are parts that you may find offensive. The book is for ADULTS ONLY. Definitely not something you would want to put on your coffee table or kitchen bookshelf. Knowing Amy’s comedic style from “Strangers with Candy” I expected this. Even with that knowledge the end result left a bitter taste in my mouth.

Yeah, I get that it is supposed to be tongue-in-cheek but it never quite gets there. The book is filled with too much random content, from drawings, recipes, lists and some “female” advice. I just don’t think her writing style combines humor and helpful tips well. All in all, I am glad that it was a loan from the library and I didn’t spend money to buy it.

Leave a Reply

