Not “of age” yet?

I borrowed “I Feel Bad About My Neck: And Other Thoughts on Being a Woman” by Nora Ephron from my local library. I knew Nora’s name from movies such as “When Harry Met Sally” and “Sleepless in Seattle” – movies I have watched many, many, many times. I love her movies, so I thought I would see some the same humor and wit in this book – but I didn’t.

This book contains short vignettes about Nora’s thoughts on various topics, from exercise or lack thereof; renting vs. buying in New York; the curse of designer handbags; and parenthood. Most of the book is dedicated to growing older gracefully. She makes interesting observations but nothing particularly funny or fresh.

I had a somewhat difficult time getting into it initially. I felt the humor was a bit forced and didn’t seem completely natural. There were sections where I smiled, but there were no laugh-out-loud moments.

I feel I might not be “of age” yet to read this book. Being in my mid-thirties, I have yet to experience some of the topics she discussed. I believe that if pick this book up 5 to 10 years from now I might feel differently.

Leave a Reply

