From her kitchen to ours.

I was finally able to spend some time cooking in the kitchen. With all that has been going on Mr. Sweet & I have been eating out a lot. It is a shame!

The Pioneer Woman Cooks: Food from My Frontier” is Ree Drummond’s second cookbook. I have been a fan of Drummond’s blog “Pioneer Women” for quite some time now. Instead of giving you her background, you should take a look over at her blog. It is well worth it.

Food from My Frontier” is great for beginners and people who like step by step photos. Cooks can compare their dishes with the book and make sure they are on the right track. Another great feature was that many of the entries had a section called “Variations”. In them, Ree mentions possible ingredient substitutions, dishes that could be paired with the recipe and enchantments. There are recipes ranging from breakfast, appetizers, soups, supper, sides, canning and desserts.

Something you should know about this book: Some of the recipes are already on her blog and can be printed out for free. If I like the author enough I tend to spend the money so I can have the book, with all the recipes in one place, to enjoy at my convenience.

Note: This cookbook is not for everyone. Her food is very decadent with a lot of butter, oil & red meat – not for people who are on special diets or restrictions. This cookbook is not for vegetarians, vegans or others with allergies and or a gluten-intolerance. Unless you’re burning tons of calories working on a farm every day, these recipes are too high in calories for every day meals. Do enjoy them though on occasion and share with friends!